Biscuits, Triscuits…


This is why technology is bad?
August 8, 2009, 2:03 pm
Filed under: music and musings

So my friend Nicholas Fiore of the blog Ihatethisfuckingblog wrote to me the other day on the internets and quoted the song “Kiss Me Thru the Phone” by Soulja Boy.  It was recently after I read the CNN article about the girl from Staten Island who fell into a manhole because she was texting on her cell phone and didn’t notice that the cover was off of the manhole. Her parents are apparently sueing the city now.

So I began to think about this song, and cell phones and the roles this technology, as well as Internet, google, blackberries, etc… play in everyday life. It’s kindof absurd, kindof depressing. Granted, I walk and text too, I am guilty of being addicted to technology. I hate myself when I leave my cell phone at home and check my email/texts every five seconds. At the same time though, I don’t think I could ever kiss anyone “thru” the phone. Or have intimate conversations or moments on the the phone, especially the cell phone. Get me a rotary phone and a plush chair and we can see about some serious talk seshes but intimacy and cell phones? NO WAY! It’s a piece of plastic, I ain’t kissing that shit.

That being said Souja Boy decided to write this song or someone wrote it about how he misses someone so much and wishes he could kiss her, so he says for her to kiss him through the phone. He also says “I know that you like me, you my future wife-y,” which is just precious! The video is absolutely ridiculous with a chick is working out on the tread mill and texting. If only it included a girl texting while she’s walking and falling into a manhole. That would have been the best.

So…just think about it, how often do you use your cell phone? Do you kiss through the phone? Do you have a future wife-y? Have you fallen in a manhole recently? Just sue cell phones or throw it out the window. I dunno. Just watch the video. Also, according to spellcheck “texting” is not a word. That should be a sign/message to everyone.  Ed: Unfortunately, this video has disabled embedding so you can just click to watch it on Youtube. Sorry!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

